Deferral of Inspections Ends on July 10, New Deadline for Inspections Oct. 9
MAYNARD– Chief Anthony Stowers would like to remind Maynard homeowners to schedule smoke and CO detector inspections with the Maynard Fire Department.
The executive order issued on March 10 by Governor Charlie Baker for the deferral of any smoke and CO detector inspections required under law has been rescinded, effective July 10. Buyers who deferred must receive an inspection by October 9.
Massachusetts law requires smoke and CO detector inspections by local fire departments for the sale or transfer of residential properties. The executive order applies to any sale or transfer that occurred while this order was still in effect.
To schedule an inspection with the Maynard Fire Department, please call 978-897-1014 and press four. Residents should leave a message with their name, phone number and reason for calling.
During the inspection, residents are asked to remain outside of the house. Payment for the inspection should be left on the counter near the stove. The cost of an inspection is $50 and checks should be made payable to the Town of Maynard. Cash is also accepted but checks are preferred. A certificate of compliance will be provided through email.
Chief Stowers wishes to provide important information on smoke and CO inspections:
- Find out when your home was built and the date the last building permit was issued for any renovations. Call the Town of Maynard Building & Inspections Division at 978-897-1302 if you don’t know this information.
- Call the Maynard Fire Department to schedule your inspection as soon as you have a closing date on a property. The department will issue a certificate of compliance if your alarms pass the inspection. The Maynard Fire Department business line is 978-897-1014.
- A house number attached to the house that is visible from the street is required.
- Using the date your home was built and the date the last building permit was issued, figure out the smoke and CO alarm requirements for your home. These requirements are listed by date in the Guide to Massachusetts Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Requirements When Selling a One- or Two- Family Residence web page.
- List the location of all smoke and CO alarms in your home. Determine the age of each alarm. The date of manufacture is stamped on the front or back of most alarms. If you have to remove an alarm from its bracket to get the information, be sure to replace the alarm when you are finished. If there is no date on an alarm, it has expired and must be replaced.
- Compare your existing alarms and the requirements for your home to determine if you must replace any or all of the alarms in your house.
- If your smoke and/or CO alarms do not meet the requirements for your house and need replacement, you can purchase and install new equipment yourself or hire someone to do so. You may need an electrician to replace hard-wired alarms.
- Battery-powered smoke alarms that are more than 10 years old, or have expired, must be replaced with alarms with 10-year, sealed, non-rechargeable, non-replaceable batteries. They must be photoelectric and have a hush feature to silence nuisance alarms.
- After your new smoke and CO alarms are installed, test them to be sure they work properly.